before you my life was like a moonless night…

“Before you, Bella, my life was like a moonless night. Very dark, but there were stars –points of light and reason….And then you shot across my sky like a meteor. Suddenly everything was on fire; there was brilliancy, there was beauty. When you were gone, when the meteor had fallen over the horizon, everything went black. nothing had changed, but my eyes were blinded by light. I couldn’t see the stars anymore. And there was no more reason for anything.”

-Edward Cullen, New Moon, Page 514

Yes, that would be my favorite New Moon quote. And, yes, I have it memorized. I like to say that in a nice little high-pitched brittish voice. Yeah, Im retarded, Tell me about it. :)

But, the reason I bring this quote into this post, is because I was eating pancakes a few moments ago while reading Twilight (For the umpteenth time!), And I read the part where… I’ll just type it out for you.

“Its the safest time of day for us,” he said, answering the unspoken question in my eyes. “The easiest time. Btut, also the saddest, in a way… the end of another day, the return of the night. Darkness is so predictable, don’t you think?” He smiled wistfully.

“I like the night. Without the dark, we’d never see the stars.” I frowned. “Not that you see them here much.”

-Edward Cullen & Bella Swan, Twilight, page 233

So, I began to think about some things about the moonless night quote. Like, my friend, Caitlyn, was asking me How could he be blinded by the light, if it is so dark? I never quite understood myself, but, now thinking about it, I understand. Think about when you are in a dark room for so long, and then suddenly, someone turns the lights on. For a second, you cannot see clearly because your eyes havent had time to adjust. Your pupils would still have been dialated. So, in the quote, Lets think literally for a second. If you were outside for so long, and then finally a meteor came through the sky, it would be extremely bright for a second. And then, when the meteor is gone, it is dark all over again. Your eyes would have been blinded by the bright light coming from the meteor, and, you wouldnt be able to see clearly in the darkness.

Maybe it just happens to make sense in my mind, I dont know. =/ Im weird like that.

Deuces. :)

6 Responses

  1. okai thats my favorite quote in new moon too. I don’t know why there is just something about it! Anyways i like the way you explained that. It makes sence when you think about it.
    P.S. don’t you just wish you had an edward♥

  2. My favourite quote is :I’ll be back soon you won’t have time to miss me. look after my heart —- i’ve left it with you

  3. I love this quote so much. My boyfriend quoted this for me in a letter he wrote while I was away at college and I didnt understand it until I read the books like he told me to. When I came across it in the book, I cried. I could not believe how romantic it was….!!!!

  4. While I was reading I came accross this quote and was amazed by it
    but from the part “when you were gone” to the end. Is he saying that there was no reason for anything in the world when she was gone or no reason from anything else but her. I’m confused. I wanted to give the quote to my boyfriend but I’m not positive as to what it means.

  5. everyone wishes they have an edward!!!!

  6. You’re right. Edward is saying she blinded him. Like, before her, his night was dark. He could see things, like the stars and lights, but it was nothing special. But then a meteor came, and all of a sudden everything was beautiful. The world lit up. But in the flash that it was gone, everything didn’t really go back to being the normal dark with stars and lights. He was blinded. After seeing the beauty of the meteor, everything else was so dull, he couldn’t see it. Cause it didn’t matter. Nothing else comes close to the meteor in beauty.

    The meteor is Bella!

    “..my life was like a moonless night. Very dark, but there were stars..points of light and reason..” – His life is nothing special! He see’s everything around him, but it’s nothing to be estatic about. everything seems dull.
    “And then you shot across my sky like a meteor. Suddenly everything was on fire; there was brilliancy, there was beauty” – All of a sudden there’s bella. Someone who brightened his life. Something that made everything else look good. Like, things, himself, actually mattered. He had something to live for.
    “When you were gone, when the meteor had fallen over the horizon, everything went black. nothing had changed, but my eyes were blinded by light. I couldn’t see the stars anymore. And there was no more reason for anything.” – when she wasn’t around, he was blinded. cause he had experienced this thing that made everything in his life better, and it’s gone. so now he’s blinded. cause nothing else can compare to her. so now, nothing in life matters. it’s not even dark..its just not there. which is just like being blinded by a light someone just turned on when u were used to the dark. but i think of it more as when you faint kinda or get light headed. you can’t really see, the lights are on, but you can’t see. its not dark, theres just nothing there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

